Ouagadougou Partnership: Ministerial, Donor, and Civil Society Declaractions

Ministers of Health and civil society representatives of the nine member countries of the Ouagadougou Partnership—namely Benin, Burkina Faso, Cote d’Ivoire, Guinea, Mali, Mauritania, Niger, Senegal, and Togo—as well as donor government representatives gathered in Dakar, Senegal, on December 15 2015, during the first meeting of the Ministers of Health of the Partnership, to recognizing the important role of family planning in the healthy development of the regions’ people, as well as in achieving the demographic dividend, a guarantee of economic emergence for the OP states.

The three groups all made declaractions that recognized the considerable progress between 2011 and 2015 with the enrollment of 1,180,000 additional women compared to a target of 1,000,000, or an overrun of 18%, which has helped save lives and improve productivity and the quality of life, as well as reinforced their commitment to future progress (download the declaractions below).

Please visit the Ouagadougou Partnership website for additional documents from the meeting.