Adding It Up: Investing in Contraception and Maternal and Newborn Health in the Ouagadougou Partnership Countries

The Ouagadougou Partnership was formed in 2011 by the governments of Benin, Burkina Faso, Côte d’Ivoire, Guinea, Mali, Mauritania, Niger, Senegal and Togo to address the need for modern contraceptives in Francophone West Africa. The nine countries seek to increase the number of women electing to use modern contraceptives by 2.2 million between 2015 and 2020.

The Guttmacher Institute, an FP2020 Commitment Maker, has compiled a fact sheet that provides an overview of:

  • The dire need for services in each country,
  • Costs of contraceptive services and maternal and newborn care,
  • Benefits of investing in both types of care, and
  • Recommendations for meeting the challenge.